Business Owners – How well do you understand the NES?

Fake Dictionary, Dictionary definition of the word understand.

The National Employment Standards are 10 minimum entitlements that apply to all employees in Australia.

There is lots of information on the FairWork Ombudsman web site

The NES covers off on each of these employee entitlements:

  1. Annual leave
  2. Personal/carer’s leave and compassionate leave
  3. Public holidays
  4. Long service leave
  5. Community service leave
  6. Parental leave
  7. Flexible working arrangements
  8. Notice of termination and redundancy
  9. Maximum weekly hours
  10. Fair work information statement

Most employers understand their obligations but if you don’t know all the rules, and there are many of them, it can be worrying.

For timely, cost effective advice, contact Lisa Lee at Classic Recruitment & Human Resources either via email or at the office on (07) 4638 3599.

Lisa is an experienced HR practitioner who can assist you with deciphering any aspect of the NES.